top of page
Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget

Hope for a New School Year


If you could guarantee one thing this school year, what would it be? A new school year is so exciting for our FSM teens as they make goals and set expectations. It even does the same for us as FSM leaders. I am dreaming and make a vision and plan of how to reach these teens for Christ and help them grow.

I love the truth in Psalm 91 and I think it is the perfect encouragement for us and for our teens as we walk a new school year. In this chapter, God promises that if we are in the "secret place" (his presence) and his shadow (staying near to him and in his protection) he will protect us. I love the names used for God. In the first two verses, God is called "most high". This means God is above any power. He is also called "Almighty". He is the highest and most powerful. He is also called "my God". The God who is powerful who is most high is MY God. That's why we can trust him.

There are three things I know I can't trust or put my hope in. I can't trust myself. I fail daily, multiple times a day. Other people fail me at times. That's why Psalms doesn't say depend on each other. We come alongside each other and help... but as imperfect people. I can't trust in circumstances. Time and time again things don't always go as I expect or want them to. This school year all three will impact our lives and the lives of the teens. That's why the Bible doesn't say to trust any of these three things. If you're trusting your circumstances you'll be nothing but discouraged. If you are trusting your friends on many days you'll be encouraged but there will be plenty of days you won't be. If you trust yourself you will be miserable. God is the most high, almighty, faithful God and he's ours.

Over the school year, nothing can separate us from his love and grace. That's why we are encouraged to be and stay in his presence (his secret place, shadow) in this passage. As we start a new year may our minds rest in the shadow of the almighty, under his wings. If we try to rest in ourselves, this school year doesn't look very bright. If our hope is in others, we will be disappointed. If our hope is in our circumstances, it will probably go south at some point. Put our hope is in the shadow of God's presence because he is trustworthy and we are his.


I encourage you to take this time to read Psalm 92 this week and consider the implications....not only for your life but for the lives of the teens you pour into. How can you use it to encourage them and shift their perspective as a new school year begins?


God, grant us hope in who you are. We don't deserve it. Thank you for inviting us into your presence. We are a mess, we are growing, we are sinning, we are struggling....but you still draw us in and invite us to struggle with you. I pray that we would embrace that. Thank you that your presence is here. Thank you that we can call you by name and rest there. Help us to learn to rest in you alone.

bottom of page