top of page
Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget

Stillness and Wisdom




I can't believe that it's supposed to be 70 today! A big part of me is yearning to go the hills and get lost in some trails for the rest of the day! When I was younger, I lived by a wooded creek where I would climb trees, fish, build forts, carve sticks and scrape my knees. Nowadays I love hopping in the car and heading up to Westcliffe. I learned real quick when I became a Christian that I connect with Him better when I am alone and surrounded by His stillness. It's a time for me to center my thoughts on Christ and meditate on His wisdom and truth. I am a people person, but I need my alone time as well. When was the last time you did something like this? Where you took maybe an hour out of your week, in a quiet place, and seeked Him? In our busy lives, I truly believe this is as big a necessity as air, food, and shelter. Tomorrow we are continuing our series on how to read the Bible, and what it looks like to seek Him in the stillness of our lives. That we need to make time with Him part of our very survival and not just part of to-do list.

As a Youth Pastor, getting teens excited to read His word sometimes feels like an uphill battle. Teens these days have more on their plate than some of them complain about! And many of them are actually attending College and High School at the same time. When I was their age, I just struggled with making it to class on time.

I have learned as I have grown older though that seeking the stillness in everyday life is vital to my existence. Right now I am reading through Job and Proverbs. Both of these books are incredible books of wisdom. The get looked over a lot though. People don't want to read Job because its long and thick with confusing Jewish poetry. And many people view Proverbs as the book for beginners, that it's TOO simple and full of metaphors that don't apply to us today.

If this is you I hope you don't mind the subtle smack across your face coming from me through this screen. I can't even begin to explain to you the sheer peace and growth I have gained from these two wonderful books. Proverbs continually urges me to seek wisdom, and Job reminds me of how to use that wisdom. Now, I am at a different place in my journey than you might be. And maybe you're a scholar or a struggling believer. Wherever you are at, take time and read a chapter of Proverbs today, tomorrow and the rest of this month. There are 31 chapters in this wonderful book. Coincidence? Maybe. Or maybe not.

Take time to seek stillness and wisdom today. If it enriches your life as it has mine, let me know. I hope that this becomes a daily habit that draws you closer to Him.

bottom of page