top of page
Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget

Getting Stuck in Buena Vista




So I have this incredible wife. We've been married over 2 1/2 years now and I wish I could describe how wonderful she is... maybe I should blog about it.

The focus of this one anyways is Valentines Day.

Just this past Saturday we drove up to Buena Vista, CO (we live in CO, and so should you, actually dont move here because then there will be more people crowding my favorite hiking/climbing/fishing spots... anyways)

We only live 2 hours away and so we wanted to make a little day trip and do fun things. We pulled into town, grabbed coffee, stopped by the outdoor gear shop, and then went deep into the mountains to hike(man that sentence sounds soooo good.)

The road was terrible. I have a hatchback and everybody else had some sort of lifted truck with tires the size of my car. I went to park at the trailhead and got stuck. The guy at the gear shop said it could cost up to 2,000 for a tow because of the conditions. Awesome.

Once you get to know me, you'll realize I'm not easily flustered by stuff like this. I knew some guy would probably drive by and help, which did happen, and that everything would be ok.

But here's a little piece of the story that makes it even sweeter. My wife. I will try through out my writings to paint a picture of the perfection that is Nicole so here's a little piece.

When this happened, she got stressed. I was stressed too but she was imagining 2,000 bucks going down the drain. I told her everything would be ok and she breathed heavily and kind of went into a trance and said, "oooook."

Once the car was out I popped my head in the car and said, "ok, you ready?"

My wife hates the cold. Hates. It.

But she loves the mountains and hiking so she got out and we went on a short, pleasant hike full of laughter and photos.

Everyday with her is Valentine's Day.

Why?

The Gospel.

You see, this story doesn't sound like much at all. But neither does everyday life. We get up, cook, get ready, work, run errands, sleep, repeat. But in the day to day we are faced with a ton of different choices and if you are a believer in Christ we always have 2: self or Christ.

You see my wife could've responded much differently that day. She could've responded with a lot of hostility when I got the car stuck, she could've rolled her eyes at me when I asked if she was ready, she could've grumbled the whole time we were outside in the cold, and so forth. But she didn't. She chose grace. She chose to put self on the shelf, put on Christ, and live out the Gospel. And because of that, everyday with her is Valentine's day.

If you are curious or maybe confused by some of what I have written, please don't hesitate to message me.

bottom of page